Like a perfect cup of Joe, it takes time to brew


Yes, I will admit this proudly. I love coffee. All flavors and it’s the perfect beverage well for me just about any time of the day or night.

For the coffee lovers out there, you know what I mean. The tantalizing aroma of a pot brewing is something that has me looking forward to hearing that beeping sound of my coffee pot telling me that it is ready and just right.

Sometimes creating art for me is a lot like brewing a pot of coffee. That is what I call my process of the middle stages of a piece of art I am working on.

I have the idea or inspiration in mind. I gather my materials and I get started. Somewhere in this process I need to stop for a bit. It could last an hour or a day or more. It really all depends on the piece.

I must take a step back, not really because I am stuck but I need to brew this concept for a bit longer before I can finish it.

So I go and do something else, I tackle on another task, we artists never run out of things “to do”. 

I take a drive, a nap, read or just something that is not the major focus on the art.

I think about a lot of things however, that is inevitable.

I think about past experiences, other people’s experiences that I know about, life in general, what is happening in the world.

And just like that beeping sound of my coffee pot telling me my coffee is ready, I hear that in my head and I know I am ready to complete this piece.

When I go back to the art piece I am working on, it flows smoothly and I really don’t stop until I am finished. I don’t stop until I am satisfied and know this is what it was meant to be.

Here are some examples of when there was some “brewing time” needed before I felt it was complete.

 

Sell Art Online

Monday Morning Rush (Click on image to see in greater detail)

Art Prints

All is Fair… (Click on image to see in greater detail)

Art Prints

Shattered Silence (Click on image to see in greater detail)

Sell Art Online

Love (Click on image to see in greater detail)

Ok, now I am off to drink me a Cup o’Joe!

Photography Prints

Okay, maybe it’s going to be more than just one. Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

