Dive right in, Baby! The water is fine


Here you are at the edge, you look down and see the water below. There may be people around, cheering you on, “Take the leap!” “Go for it!” “Dive right in!”

And you are scared, nervous and excited all at once.

It would be so easy to just take a step back and stand in the safety of the ground under your feet but you know that if you do, you will never know.

You will never know what it feels like to fly!

You will  never know the adrenaline rush that takes place when  you are suspended in the air, coasting with the clouds, to finally be free of all your inhibitions and fears. Starting out on a new adventure, taking on a new job, entering into a new relationship or like me, putting my art out in the public eye can feel like jumping off a cliff into a mass of water.

You might think to yourself all sorts of thoughts.

What if I get hurt?  What if it’s not what I expected? What if I fall flat on my face and it stings to a degree that I am sure I won’t recover?

But you might also tell yourself, “Wait a minute, I have been preparing for this my whole life.”

I have been learning everything I can about this and been training for a while to get me ready for this jump.

How can I NOT take the plunge?

If I don’t do it now, WHEN will I jump in?

If you keep putting this off until you are “Ready” that time may never come. There will always be new things to learn, many things to keep doing as you embark on this adventure.

There may be some mishaps along the way but all you have to do is get back up when you fall and keep on going.

Every time I paint, I throw myself into the water in order to learn how to swim.
– Edouard Manet

Whatever it is for you, this new project, new adventure that you have been sitting on waiting for that perfect moment to execute, is waiting on you to make a move.

It may seem monstrous, overwhelming and scary but don’t forget that it is also invigorating, bold, daring and exciting. A fellow artist, Henry Kowalski says, “At least we know we’re alive”

In the end, it is going to be up to you.

I have a secret I want to share with you!

Photography PrintsCome a little closer, this is really important.
I whisper into your ear, “Dive right in baby, the water is fine!”
Art Prints
All Life is ART if you look close enough – Brigitte Cadena

Leave a Reply

