How did it all start? With eyes wide open.


Art through the ages as I have learned in my Art History Classes clearly show man’s need to express oneself, to communicate even at a time when language did not even exist. From carved out pieces of rock to paintings on the cave walls.

Human nature has a distinct need to share something with others or so it seems to me. When was the last time you logged onto your facebook? It could be what they see or how they feel or what they believe. It is amazing to me that even back then as early as 25,000 years ago we were created with a desire, a drive or a passion to express something about us or something around us.

For some it is not as apparent as with others. The Artist is not limited to only certain people. I don’t believe that. We are all wired differently than others, we are all gifted with special gifts and talents unique to ourselves but I do believe we all have an artist in us even if it is to appreciate the art of someone else.

When did it start for me?

It’s hard to say. I always believed my very first love was writing. As a teenager I would have my little journals and write poetry. I loved to put words down, (hence this blog) 😉

However in high school I was so fortunate to take a photography class and it really swept me away.

I saw that I could tell a story with one picture sometimes even better than any words I would lay down on paper. Photography is the one thing that has stayed with me throughout my life even to this day. Writing came and went as life distracted me with work, kids and the likes.

I always had my camera ready to capture a moment whether it was happy, joyous or trying. I captured it all.

I never even considered myself a PHOTOGRAPHER, an amateur at best. It was not until a few years ago when I was looking through my old photographs I realized, “Hey this is a good shot”. I wanted to do something with it professionally and this move has taken me to an entirely new level with art.

I now work at a job doing what I LOVE to do, I take pictures and I also have the liberty and flexibility to explore other areas of art such as drawing, painting and now back to writing again.

This makes me me smile.

Here is an early piece of my first pieces of photography, where it all started for me.

Taken in Chicago early 90

These were taken around the early nineties and even though I am surely dating myself. I still have that desire in me to see something and want to capture what I see through the lens.

It’s been enlightening and hopefully by sharing it with you, I can enlighten you as well.

Here is my offering for today.

Photography Prints

Art prints are available by clicking on image links like this one above.

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

