PASSION-It is something you CAN NOT ignore


It’s been cold all over. I live in South Texas and we are feeling the freeze here too. I know it’s not as cold as other part are but we are not used to degrees in the 37 range so we are COLD!

I was I driving my daughter to school this morning when I saw a man jogging. He had on long sleeves and gloves and long jogging wear but not much else. I could see the cold chilly smoke that comes out of one’s mouth when exhaling and all I could think of was, “Wow, this guy is running in this cold weather? He must really be passionate about it.”

This got me thinking about passion.

Dictionary.com describes passion as being an intense emotional feeling for an object or thing. It also talks about passion of the other sorts but I want to stick with the first description.

Passion to me is a driving force inside oneself that pushes that person towards or for something he/she cares deeply about.

“Passion is energy. Feel the power that comes from focusing on what excites you.”
–Oprah Winfrey

I have been fortunate enough to have always had jobs that I could feel passionate about.

I know it may not be so for others but for me, it has kept me going. I feel lucky in that respect.

A little over a year ago, I was not really living my passion, I went on a long hiatus and was not creating art, I was not seeking out really anything. I was not very happy either.

I still remember when it occurred to me that I needed to get back into this art journey I have been back on for a few months.

It was like this nagging itch that I could not reach, you know the kind, it’s right there somewhere on your back or you wiggle and worm your way trying to reach it but it can keep you moving like a nut until that itch is scratched.

Nothing else in my  life has changed much. The only thing that has changed is I feel more energetic and alive than I did about a year ago.

We all have something in life that we care deeply about or have strong feelings for. For me it is art and creating art. I still remember back in 2008 when I took my first stab at drawing. I really didn’t even know I could draw. I thought the best I could do was draw stick figures, but even the stick figures I used to draw in 2005 were very illustrative of emotion and so I had a feeling I had it in me. So there I was, buying pencils and charcoal and I didn’t even know how to use things like the blending tool. But I learned and before I knew it, I was not content UNLESS I had four or five drawing done by the end of the day.

You see, when you are passionate about something, you do it regardless. Like that man jogging in the cold. He could have pulled the covers up over his head and said, “Too cold today, I’ll try again tomorrow”. But he didn’t.

Just a couple of days ago, I took off to the bayfront near the ocean to try and shoot some pictures. I had my daughter with me, her friend and my dog.

It was not long before my dog wanted to get home, the kids were having fun even in the cold but after a while, as I was holding my camera, I could feel my fingers go numb, like I could not open my hand andclose them quickly.

I knew it was time to go but while I was shooting pictures I didn’t even notice this happening to my hand.

I know of some photographers who will travel miles and miles to get that “Shot”

A friend of mine told me once he walked up the Harbor Bridge JUST to get this one night shot of the city.

If these don’t show you what passion is, I don’t know what else will.

Does this mean that living your passion is easy?

No, it does not. It does require work, time, energy but if it is something you love, it won’t seem like work.

I have found that since I started back up on this art journey, I get up earlier in the morning, I go to bed later yet I feel more rested when I do get some sleep.

Passion for something is a feeling you just can’t ignore.

Like that itch I was talking about earlier. Nothing will ease you, satisfy you or give you that “Aahhh” feeling until it is scratched.

So here is my question for you?

What are you passionate about?

What do you care most deeply about?

If you know the answer to this question, are you doing something with it?

If not, we are in a brand new year and this could be your year to live your passion! What are  you waiting for?

Here is my offering today.

It’s an image that I created with my heart and soul. I wanted to find an interesting way to photograph the Harbor Bridge and here it is.

Photography Prints

Here is a picture of the Harbor Bridge in it’s entirety.

IMG_0054.JPG

Here are some cool quotes about passion I would like to share with you.

“If you don’t love what you do, you won’t do it with much conviction or passion.”
–Mia Hamm

“Nothing is as important as passion. No matter what you want to do with your life, be passionate.”
–Jon Bon Jovi

“If you feel like there’s something out there that you’re supposed to be doing, if you have a passion for it, then stop wishing and just do it.”
–Wanda Sykes

“Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion.”
–Hebbel

“There is no passion to be found playing small – in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living.”
–Nelson Mandela

“Our passions are the winds that propel our vessel. Our reason is the pilot that steers her. Without winds the vessel would not move and without a pilot she would be lost.” 

–Proverb

Leave a Reply

