Do what Dory says, “Just keep Swimming!”


Dory: Hey there, Mr. Grumpy Gills. When life gets you down do you wanna know what you’ve gotta do?
Marlin: No I don’t wanna know.
Dory: [singing] Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming, swimming, swimming. What do we do? We swim, swim.

This is taken from the wonderful movie, “Finding Nemo”. I was drinking my coffee this morning and looking back over the last few weeks since I set some pretty hefty goals to share my art with others for the new year.

I have been extremely busy as of late, working on my images, creating new art, building my website up, networking with others, reading and researching everything about what it takes to be successful as an artist in this day and age.

I have been very fortunate to come across people who are showing so much support and sharing my work with people they know. And I am thinking inside, “Things are falling into place.” Things are working out. I also realized that part of the reason that things are running smoothly is because I started moving.

I started taking action.

“Nothing can stop the man with the right mental attitude from achieving his goal; nothing on earth can help the man with the wrong mental attitude.” Thomas Jefferson

I have always been one with a lot of drive. I just could not sit still. I remember back in my early twenties, I lived in Chicago and it was really impractical to have a vehicle at that time in my life.

So I did what thousands of other people did, I rode the bus or the El Train to get around. Even then, I remember when I would have to wait for a bus to show up and even though they would come around every 15 minutes or so, I would walk myself to the next block until a bus arrived.

I just could not see myself sitting there, waiting for the bus to come pick me up.

I find I am most productive when I am consistently in motion. It really does work in my favor.

At times in the past I had made the mistake of avoiding putting my work out there for fear of rejection or a feeling that I could not compete with other artists out there.

It was not until I pushed those thoughts away that I realized “Hey, people do love my work!”.

I would never have known that had I not took a risk and put my work out there.

“You can’t hit a home run unless you step up to the plate. You can’t catch fish unless you put your line in the water. You can’t reach your goals if you don’t try.” Kathy Seligman

“You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.”Wayne Gretzky

I look at other successful artists and photographers out there who are doing it.  I see them selling their work and being successful in such a competitive field and I think to myself, “How can I be just like him or her?”

The only answer that comes to mind is that I must believe. I must believe in my art, my work and my message.

“Believe you can and you’re halfway there.”Theodore Roosevelt

And no matter what comes my way I have to do  like Dory says, “Just keep swimming”

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step.”Lao Tzu

This art piece is what inspired this blog for today. I always like the fluid motion in this piece but it goes very well with this blog because it shows, balance, harmony with the movement between the colors and shapes.

It reminds me of exactly how these last few months have been for me.

As long as I keep moving, doing what I can, take one step after another, things will fall into place harmoniously as they should.

Photography Prints

Leave a Reply

