Trust may be hard at times but is essential


Do you remember that game you might have played as a kid with a friend or sibling. The other person stands behind you with their arms stretched out and you are to fall back and trust they will catch you. It is called the Trust game.
This art piece when I was creating it was supposed to be two flowers and as I continued painting it, this is what I saw immediately.

Sell Art Online

Trust is a tricky thing to do. It can be trusting a person you love or a friend but it also can be trusting yourself.

As we embark onto a New Year with new goals, dreams and aspirations, I look back on the past year and my daughter asked me as we celebrated the strike of midnight. “Mom, what is your new year’s resolution?” I had not really jotted down any new ideas of what I wanted to accomplish. I have already made up my mind about taking my art out into the public and putting myself out there. But it came to me as I was reviewing some of my images that there is one thing that I must set out to do if I am to be successful in my other goals as an artist.

That one thing is to trust.

Trust that all the hard work I am putting in will eventually pay off for me and my future.

There is a lot of work involved in taking your art to a professional level. These efforts take time and energy. I must look at it as a farmer does when taking care of his land. He plants the seeds, he nourishes the land, he pulls out the weeds and he does so much work up front and then later on he will witness the fruits of his labor. It’s like that flower on the right who seems to be falling backward, or like the person who must trust that when he falls backward that person behind him with his arms stretched out is going to catch him.

“If we can just let go and trust that things will work out they way they’re supposed to, without trying to control the outcome, then we can begin to enjoy the moment more fully. The joy of the freedom it brings becomes more pleasurable than the experience itself.”
― Goldie Hawn

Trust the inner me

Since I started back on putting my art out there for the public to see, I have done a lot of soul-searching. I have reflected on who I am and what my art really is about. I have a much clearer idea of all this now than before.

A human being is only interesting if he’s in contact with himself. I learned you have to trust yourself, be what you are, and do what you ought to do the way you should do it. You have got to discover you, what you do, and trust it.
Barbra Streisand (1942 – )

Before I embarked on this journey a few months ago, I thought through a lot of what I truly wanted and I did research on others who are successful now in the art field. I studied them and what they do and how they do it. I am a firm believer in this quote.

Trust one who has gone through it.
Virgil (70 BC – 19 BC), The Aeneid

Before I embarked on this journey a few months ago, I thought through a lot of what I truly wanted and I did research on others who are successful now in the art field. I studied them and what they do and how they do it. I am a firm believer in emulating those who I respect and admire.

Trust in what you love, continue to do it, and it will take you where you need to go.
Natalie Goldberg

I have realized that no matter what direction my life is going, I find myself back here with Art and Photography.

Trust that faith is a big part of trust.

He who has faith has… an inward reservoir of courage, hope, confidence, calmness, and assuring trust that all will come out well – even though to the world it may appear to come out most badly.
B. C. Forbes

Trust that as long as I keep moving forward the destination can only come closer and I can enjoy the journey.

“I have come to accept the feeling of not knowing where I am going. And I have trained myself to love it. Because it is only when we are suspended in mid-air with no landing in sight, that we force our wings to unravel and alas begin our flight. And as we fly, we still may not know where we are going to. But the miracle is in the unfolding of the wings. You may not know where you’re going, but you know that so long as you spread your wings, the winds will carry you.”
― C. JoyBell C.

Leave a Reply

