The greatest gift an Artist can give you…


A friend of mine who is an art teacher said this to me once.

“The point of all art is creation. It is a creation of the artist. If the creation can express something to those that look at it, then it becomes good art to those who are looking at it. That is the perception of the people who consider it good.

Now if the artist can create the expression of what they want the people to precieve then the artist considers it good art. However, if the creation, by all who percieve it, becomes an expression that they can relate to and be moved by, then that art is a masterpiece.”

That is what I want to do. If you can see my art and perceive what I do, relate to it or become moved by it, then I will have done my job as an artist.

The moment one gives close attention to anything, even a blade of grass, it becomes a mysterious, awesome, indescribably magnificent world in itself. – Henry Miller

I have been doing photography for many years. It was one of my favorite classes in high school. I still remember when I got my very own first 35 mm camera. It was my most prized possession, (before I had my kids). I took pictures of everything.  The possibilities were limitless.

I didn’t realize over the years that the lens would lend itself to train my eyes to see the world differently, to see life differently.

Everyone loves the saying, “Slow down to smell the roses” but how often do we really do that? How often do we stop and look, stop and reflect at just how wondrous our world is.

It’s easy to take for granted the beautiful blue sky when you are running late for work and your stuck in a traffic jam and road rage is all around. Why don’t you look up next time you go outside and just look at the beautiful formations in the clouds. You never know what you might see if you lift your eyes to the sky.

This was taken back in 2008 and I was at the park with my daughter. Luckily I had my camera and the moment I saw this, I grabbed up my camera and took this shot. This is exactly what I saw. Minimal post processing done on this image, just a bit enhancement of the colorful sky other than that no photo manipulation at all. What are the chances I will see love in the air this way again?

Photography Prints

After many years, I finally decided to take my love of photography to a different level. I decided I wanted to do this professionally and artistically. I just wanted to share with others what I see.

When I made that decision and started stepping out with my camera again, it was like these blinders were lifted from my eyes. It was like this fog that obsurred my vision vanished and everything my eyes fixated on became art to me. I had taken pictures of everything I could find interesting in the city. And when I couldn’t find something outside, I created images in my head and arranged my subject matter to fill the frame and clicked.

This image of this leaf is the size of my thumb. It’s tiny. And I would have missed this beautiful testament of love in this leaf by this heart shaped design that could only have been created by God himself, had my eyes been closed to it.

Art Prints

At some art shows I have been asked, where I travel to, for the photos I have showcased. I simply reply that I don’t travel, it’s all taken here, with the exception of some favorites in Chicago. I started trying to figure out what else I could take pictures of, (of course there are still so many things I could use for a subject). I decided to look closer, dig deeper and realized a valuable truth. It is true to me at least.

All Life is ART if you look close enough-Brigitte Cadena

As I am venturing into other forms of art, using different mediums to express myself I realize that all life really is art to me.

It all depends on how you look at it. What do you see when you look at a piece of my art? What do you see when you look at art from any artists? I can tell you there are two things among others and that is their(artists) heart and soul that you will see.

The lyrics to a famous Christmas song comes to mind, “Do you see what I see?”

And this is to me is the greatest gift I can give to you, the viewer is a vehicle or way to look at the world and life in a different way than you did before you came across one of my art pieces.

Sell Art Online

Any image you see in my blog is available at bricadena.com

Here is wishing you a wonderful holiday and Marry Christmas.

I hope you liked the gift I gave you today.

Brigitte Cadena

Leave a Reply

