Are you what/who you wanted to be when you were a child?


Question-What do you want to be when you grow up?

Photography Prints

It’s the age old question isn’t it?

Talk to any child and ask them that and they will tell you.

I want to be a policeman, a fireman, a doctor, a nurse, the president of the United States.

They have no idea what it takes as far as education, skill, knowledge or experience.

They are simple. They just know what they want.

Do you remember how you answered that question when you were so young and innocent?

Are you living that child-like dream in your life right now?

I am here to tell you that you, yes YOU have a purpose in life.

You may ask me, “Really? Well, what is it?”

My answer,”You are the only one who can answer that question”. We all have a purpose in life. We all have a role we play. I really think that until a person realizes their purpose, that person will feel lost, confused or unhappy.

Art Prints

I can tell you from my own experience that I have tried it all. I won’t go into the long list of attempts I have tried but I can tell you that like a boomerang hitting me on the head after I threw it out into the universe, Art and Photography keep coming back to me.

A Round We Go

Art Prints

I have been capturing images since the ripe ol age of 17 when I took my first photography class in high school. I was also the kid that loved to write, poetry, fiction, just anything. If I ever was put in closed room with no walls, windows or doors, just give me a pen and paper and I would be happy. Now that I have added art to this dream of mine, a pencil would do just fine.

These were my dreams to write words and photograph the beauty of  life around me. After going around in circles, around and around, here I am. I do freelance photography to pay the bills and I have my blog and art to share with you.

I can honestly say I am living my dream.

And that makes me happy!

An artist cannot fail; it is a success to be one. ~Charles Horton Cooley

So can you sit back to a simpler time when you might have had a dream?
What was it?

Do you know what your purpose is in life?

This image comes from a talented team of artists David and Carol Kelly. You can see their

art here
Play me

Sell Art Online

This was the inspiration for this blog. I was browsing other artists works and this image came before me, and the title seemed to scream at me, “Play me”. I mean what other purpose does a piano have really? It’s sole and only purpose for existing is to produce beautiful music to delight our ears and beings. It must be played to produce it’s purpose right?

What about one of the best inventions of our time? The lightbulb is there for us to see light where it was once dark. As dreamy as times past might have been all illuminated by fire and candlelight, the light bulb changed that and gave us longer awake times, but why?  To increase our productivity.

Bright Idea

Sell Art Online

Have you ever been through a power outage and realized just how much you depended on electricity when it was no longer available to you?

How about the Headlight of your vehicle. Doesn’t it serve it’s purpose to light up the road you are taking? Doesn’t it help get you were you want to go?

Headlight of a Vintage Car

Sell Art Online

You may have just said simply, “I just want to be famous or I want to get to the top”. Well that is what stairs are for.

The Climb

Sell Art Online

You can reach the top of any dream you have but first, you have to start the climb. No one can do that for you. All it takes is one step, then one more and another. As long as you keep taking that one step on top of another, you will reach the top.

The Railroad industry changed our world back then. It was then, what the internet is to us now. We can go to places we might never have gone before. You just have to choose the path you want to go on right?

Tracks

Photography Prints

These are vehicles to get you were you want to go. Tools that are necessary to reach that end of the road, to the prize (your dream) you want to reach.

“Ok, how do I realize my dream? How do I find out what is my purpose is in life?” you may be asking.

My answer, “Do what comes naturally to you.” You may have to dig a little but you know yourself better than anyone. Even with that, I have been told numerous times that I take really great pictures. I have been doing it for so long, it comes naturally for me. I don’t even think twice about it. I have my eye well trained to see things differently than others.

Spider Web

Photography Prints

Like the spider weaving it’s web. I really don’t think they had to go to school to learn how to do this. I mean I’m sure mama spider gave baby spider some tips or something but the spiders who weave webs do it so naturally. It was what they were meant to do. Why do they do this? They do this to survive, to protect themselves and their young. And when they do, it’s beautiful because as eerie as even I feel about spiders, they serve their purpose. And look at it. It’s a true work of art in my eyes.

So now it’s time for you to sit back and think for a moment. What did you want to be when you grow up? Whatever it is, it’s not too late to start.

Never Stop Dreaming

Sell Art Online

All art work is available for purchase by clicking on images to their pages.

All life is Art if you look closely enough-
Brigitte Cadena

Leave a Reply

