Art Feature-Gerald Lopez


 

Art Feature-Gerald Lopez

Name: Gerald Lopez
City/State: Corpus Christi, TX
Email:geraldjl@hotmail.com
Website: geraldlopezart.com

Bio: Gerald Lopez is currently an art instructor at Del Mar College and Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi in Corpus Christi, Texas. He also serves on the board of directors and exhibition committee of K Space Contemporary, a non-profit art gallery that presents and promotes contemporary art to the Coastal Bend region of South Texas. Gerald received his BFA from Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi and a MFA from the University of Delaware.
He has participated in many group exhibitions throughout the United States and his work can be found in the collections of the Frederick R. Weisman Art Museum in Minneapolis, Minnesota and the University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma, Chickasha, Oklahoma.

Gerald Lopez was my Design Instructor last year at Del Mar College and I learned a lot in his class. He gave us creative freedom to work on the assignments and was extremely helpful when I ran into an issue. He was there to offer guidance and give us the foundation of the elements of art but allowed each of us to create art in a personal way. I really enjoyed his class.

Who is your favorite artist and why?

Well, right now I am mainly looking at Renaissance art and artists. Not really a specific one but I am looking at a number of artists to get an idea of their use of structure, pespective, elements and themes.

What types of art do you prefer?

I enjoy all types of art from Ancient to Renaissance/Baroque to Modern and Contemporary Art. Teaching art I must say, has really broadened my horizons to many different types of art that I never considered as a student and that has opened up alot of doors to new ideas.

When did you start going public with your art?

I think I started trying to get my art public all the way back in my undergraduate student days at TAMUCC.

How would you describe your style?

Pour in some Renaissance and then add a bit of Pop Art with a twist of Surrealism and DADA. Shaken not stirred.

What is your approach to design?

I think my approach to design is alot like many other artists and non-artists for that matter. It’s an inate feeling of what seems to work and what dosen’t. Like trying to arrange furniture in a bare room for example. You move the furniture, plants, artwork and etc. around and around until you like what you see. In art you move color, line, shape etc. in the same manor. Design first and foremost has to satisfy the artist’s taste and hopefully that arrangment of elements and theme attracts other viewers in a positive way as well.

That is an interesting analogy you used, because when I am working on something, it is very much like moving furniture around, arrangement and placement is very important.

How do you bridge the gap of the business side of designing?

I seldom venture into the business side of designing if ever. I try to stay on the art side of things as much as possible. I guess that bridge is still under construction.

What was the best advice given to you as an artist?

Stay humble, be yourself and have fun. Art is filled with alot of ups and downs. I believe the trick is to not be too full of yourself during the ups and not get too discouraged during the downs. Stay steady and do what what you enjoy doing even when trends in art are heading the opposite direction. It’s a difficult road to travel to be sure, but in the end what’s the point of making art if you’re not having fun creating it? When art is fun it can be one of the most satisfying feelings in the world.

I have to agree with you on that.

Can you describe your workspace?

I would describe my workspace as a little cramped but cozy. I have a desk where I work with enough room to create small to fairly large sized drawings, so the space is not a real big issue right now. Although a little more room never hurts. Recently however, I have had the opportunity to create a large scale mural downtown at Lizardoz Sub Pub on Chaparral which was alot of fun.

Can you describe your creative process?

I think the word “collage” best describes my creative process. I start by taking photos of many different people, places and things and then try to put them together in a drawing to form a cohesive narrative. My focus as of late have been themes of Corpus Christi. Though I do add a surreal twist to the stories.

What are some resources that you have found helpful to you as an artist that you would recommend to other artists?

Although there are numerous sources I have looked at for art and artists, the two most frequently used by myself are: Glasstire and Facebook. Glasstire is a good resource for finding out what is happening around Texas specifically and through facebook I can see what my art friends are up to and I can see what is happening around the world.

Can you tell us of any upcoming shows/exhibits for your work?

I will be in an exhibition called “Go West this Fall” which will feature artworks from Texas and French artists. It will be at the UNESCO Center in Paris, France, on Sept. 19 – 30, and at the Williams Tower Gallery in Houston on Oct. 27 – Nov. 25.

http://www.gowest-francetexas.com

Go West this Fall

Well thank you again for taking this time to talk to me about your art.

Here is a preview of some of his art pieces. You can view his work at this website.

Website: go to geraldlopezart

Leave a Reply

